About Us

Hopwas WoodThe Friends was formed in April 2004, following a public meeting at the Coton and Hopwas Social Club.  At the same time nominations were put forward to form a Committee.  Since that time the Committee has met on a regular basis providing a watching brief over any activity affecting the Wood and publishing newsletters to keep members informed.

At the outset, a Constitution was established which sets out the basis on which Friends of Hopwas Wood operate.  The Constitution covers such things as membership, election of the Committee, the calling of meetings and importantly the Annual General Meeting and the financial arrangements.

We have been actively involved with Natural England to re-establish the whole of the Wood as Ancient Woodland, Staffordshire County Council as the authority responsible for mineral extraction, the Forestry Commission in relation to the matter of felling and planting licences, and we have regular contact with Tarmac and the Ministry of Defence. We are recognised by Lichfield District Council as a body to be consulted when they are developing policy issues.

Membership is open to anyone age 16 or over. Please see membership page to contact us.

The Committee currently consists of a Chairman: Ray Vanstone; Vice-Chair: Lorna Bushell; Secretary: Barbara Stubbs; Treasurer: Martin Handley; and Tom Jackson.